All NVQs now payable over 12 months via our online store
TrustPilot 4.5 Stars
Workplace Safety Signs

The Essential Guide to Workplace Safety Signs and Symbols

Workplace safety is a paramount concern for organisations across all industries, ensuring the well-being of employees and compliance with health and safety regulations. Central to these efforts are safety signs and symbols, the universal language of hazard communication and prevention. These tools are indispensable in alerting staff and visitors to potential dangers, guiding them towards safe practices, and ensuring a swift emergency response.

The Significance of Safety Signs and Symbols

Safety signs and symbols perform several critical functions within the workplace. They alert individuals to potential hazards, provide instructions for safe behaviour, indicate the location of safety equipment, and reinforce safety training. This creates a safety-conscious culture, reduces the likelihood of accidents, and helps organisations comply with health and safety regulations.

Decoding Safety Signs and Symbols

To maximise their effectiveness, it’s crucial to understand the standardisation behind these safety communicators. This includes recognising the meanings of shapes and colours according to international standards like ISO 7010, which aims for global harmonisation.

  • Shapes: Triangles warn of hazards; circles mandate actions; squares or rectangles provide general information; a circle with a diagonal slash indicates prohibited actions.
  • Colours: Red signals an emergency or prohibitive action; yellow indicates caution; blue mandates specific behaviour; and green denotes safety equipment or emergency exits.

Types of Safety Symbols

  1. Prohibition Symbols: Prevent risky behaviours using a circular band with a diagonal line.
  2. Warning Symbols: Alert to hazards, using a yellow or amber triangle to demand attention.
  3. Mandatory Symbols: Command-specific safety actions featuring a blue circle with a white pictogram.
  4. Emergency Symbols: Indicate emergency exits and first aid locations with a green square or rectangle.

The Role of GHS Pictograms

Beyond the basic safety symbols, the Globally Harmonized System (GHS) pictograms address chemical-related hazards, which are crucial in informing about risks like health hazards, flammability, and environmental threats. These pictograms, framed within a red border on a white background, classify hazards such as toxic, flammable, and corrosive, to name a few.

Fostering a Safety-Minded Workplace

There needs to be more than symbols alone; no work environment exists. A proactive approach involves regular risk assessments to identify hazards, selecting appropriate signs for each work area, and updating signs to prevent “sign blindness.” Moreover, the success of these measures depends on comprehensive safety training that ingrains a culture of caution and preparedness among employees.

Safety signs and symbols are foundational elements of workplace safety, offering a clear and universal method of communication to prevent accidents and protect health. By understanding and adequately implementing these signs, organisations can create a safer work environment, comply with regulations, and, most importantly, safeguard their most valuable asset— their people.

It’s people that makes safety work. Effective health and safety practices depend not just on general information like our blog offers. It’s crucial to consult with qualified health and safety advisers, internal or external, to ensure compliance and effectiveness within your unique operational context.

Disclaimer: This content is provided for general information only and does not serve as legal or professional advice. We are not liable for any actions taken based on this information. Always consult with a professional for advice specific to your situation, and ensure up to date and area specific compliance with applicable laws and regulations.

Find a course

Looking for a course in Health & Safety, Construction or Environment? We support you to achieve your certificate or diploma, from Level 3 to Level 7.

See more news from shec